Return to Headlines

FCEA presents 2 scholarships & 14 grants to educators

The Fayette County Education Association has chosen two recipients for its 2021 American Education Week scholarships: Denise Hayden of Julius Marks Elementary and Wendy Young of Northern Elementary, both of whom are pursuing a doctorate. FCEA members working toward their Rank 2 (certified teacher with a master’s degree), National Board certification, Rank 1 (master’s degree plus 30 credit hours), or a doctoral degree may apply for the $500 award. 

In addition, FCEA has provided $250 classroom grants to these 14 educators: 

  • Denise Atinay of Sandersville Elementary
  • Vanessa Bobbitt, William Wells Brown Elementary
  • Jennifer Cook, Southern Middle School
  • Natasha Hagen, Arlington Elementary
  • Matthew Hamlyn, Sandersville
  • Kelly Hill, Liberty Elementary
  • Claire Johnson, Picadome Elementary
  • Renee Mooney, Good Samaritan Hospital (homebound instructor)
  • Angela Newsome, Garden Springs Elementary
  • Ashley Offenbach, The Academy for Leadership at Millcreek Elementary
  • Shawna Pinson, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School
  • Laura Reagan, Millcreek
  • Kallie Snyder, Ashland Elementary, and
  • Amanda Yates, William Wells Brown

FCEA will present more grants next semester. For questions, please email FCEA President Jessica Hiler or call (859) 224-0907.

(Posted Nov. 18, 2021)