Return to Headlines

District to pilot 'Test to Stay in School' program

Amid the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, Fayette County Public Schools is committed to providing a safe in-person learning environment that maximizes the amount of time that students and staff are together on campus. To reduce the amount of school missed by students in quarantine, the district will pilot an optional program that allows students who are exposed to the virus in school-related settings to continue to attend school IF:

  • They are not experiencing symptoms of COVID-19, AND
  • They test negative during free on-campus testing before school on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.

FCPS will pilot “Test to Stay in School” in partnership with the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Kentucky Department of Health, and the Lexington-Fayette County Health Department. Participating are Breckinridge, Clays Mill, Dixie Magnet, James Lane Allen, and Julius Marks elementary schools, and Crawford, Jessie Clark, and Morton middle schools. For additional details and resources, please visit our Test to Stay in School webpage.

Contact: District spokeswoman Lisa Deffendall, (859) 381-4101 or 699-1441

(Revised Sept. 29; posted Sept. 20, 2021)