Return to Headlines

School board elects new chair & vice chair

Tyler Murphy   Amy Green

The Fayette County Board of Education has chosen its next leaders. By unanimous votes during their Jan. 5 virtual meeting, the members elected Tyler Murphy as chair and Amy Green as vice chair. Both positions are two-year terms. Stephanie Aschmann Spires of District 4, who was board chair since August 2018, chose not to seek another term but she remains on the board through 2022. Ray Daniels of District 3, who did not seek reelection in the fall, had served as vice chair since January 2017.

Murphy, who represents District 2, joined the board in 2019 and his term expires in 2022. A Social Studies teacher at Boyle County High School, he earned a B.A. in Political Science and History from Transylvania University and a master’s in Education from Morehead State University. Murphy, who is a National Board Certified Teacher, has served as an SBDM teacher representative, board member of the Kentucky Education Association / Central District, associate campus director of the Kentucky Governor’s Scholars Program, a member of the steering committee of the Kentucky Council on Social Studies, and a trustee of the Cornerstone Fund at First Presbyterian Church (Lexington).

Green, whom voters in District 5 elected in November, will serve on the school board through 2024. An educator, entrepreneur, and full-time parent, she received a B.A. in both Mathematics and Secondary Mathematics Education, a master’s in Education, and an M.A. in Mathematics, all from University of Kentucky. Green's experience includes serving as an SBDM parent representative, PTA corresponding secretary and executive board member, mathematics instructor and course coordinator at the University of Kentucky, and a Rank I math teacher at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School.                                                                                        

For questions about the school board, please email the superintendent’s executive assistant, Tanya Dailey.

VIDEO: Oaths of office near the start of the meeting

(Posted Jan. 5, 2021)

Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236