Return to Headlines

School board to welcome two new faces in January 2021

Amy Green (photo provided)   Tom Jones (photo provided)

Former teacher Amanda “Amy” Green won the District 5 seat on the Fayette County Board of Education, and former principal Tom Jones secured the District 3 spot in the Nov. 3 election. They will replace board member Daryl Love and Vice Chairman Raymond Daniels, respectively, who both decided not to seek re-election after several years of service. Board member Christy Morris was unopposed for the District 1 seat.

Green defeated fellow candidates Amy Beasley and Arnold Farr, and Jones ran unopposed. They will join the board in January, when Fayette County Public Schools plans to resume in-person instruction if COVID-19 pandemic conditions allow. Board Chairwoman Stephanie Aschmann Spires (District 4) and board member Tyler Murphy (District 2) are in the middle of four-year terms, both having been elected in 2018.

Green, a full-time parent, formerly was a faculty instructor for the Mathematics Department at the University of Kentucky and taught at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School. She is also a school volunteer, a School-Based Decision Making Council representative, and a PTA executive board member. Jones served as principal of Bryan Station Middle School, taught English at Bryan Station High School, and was a community resource specialist and assistant principal at Leestown Middle. He subsequently worked for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools/AdvancED before retiring in 2016.

Board district map & school assignments

Source: Herald-Leader

(Posted Nov. 4, 2020)

Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236