Return to Headlines

Douglass Boys’ Basketball Coach Receives 11th Region Award

Wes Scarberry of Frederick Douglass High School took top honors as the 11th Region boys’ basketball Coach of the Year. This is the second such award for Scarberry, who is in his first season with the Broncos after taking the job as interim head coach in October.

The All-11th Region Boys’ Team, as selected by the coaches, includes these student-athletes from Fayette County Public Schools:

  • Kai Simpson of Frederick Douglass
  • Nick Spalding of Paul Laurence Dunbar
  • Eric Hackett of Tates Creek
  • Armelo Boone of Frederick Douglass

The boys' All-Academic Team includes:

  • Jake Simonsen, Frederick Douglass
  • Mason Hawkins, Henry Clay
  • Jack Ackerman, Lafayette
  • Ben Haggard, Dunbar
  • Johnathan Wright, Tates Creek
  • Jaden Biggers, Bryan Station

The All-11th Region Girls’ Team includes:

  • Niah Rhodes, Frederick Douglass
  • Jer Myra Christian, Frederick Douglass
  • Allison Stone, Henry Clay
  • Savannah Simpson, Lafayette

The girls' coaches did not designate an all-academic team.

Source: Herald-Leader