Return to Headlines

District Salutes Latest Golden Apple Award Winners

Seven high-performing community partners have received Golden Apple Awards from Fayette County Public Schools for their efforts working with the district and specific schools during the 2021-22 academic year: 

  • Demetria Blair of CHI Saint Joseph Health
  • HealthFirst Bluegrass dental van program
  • Innovative Pest Management
  • LexArts
  • Trees Lexington!
  • Tayna Fogle of Kentuckians for the Commonwealth
  • S.T.A.R.T. program in the University of Kentucky’s College of Medicine 

Read More about the Winners

Gary Cremeans of United Way of the Bluegrass, who serves as vice president of the Community Partners Leadership Team; Amy Green, vice chair of the Fayette County Board of Education; and FCPS Superintendent Demetrus Liggins presented the awards Sept. 14 at the Central Bank Center as part of our district’s 2022 State of Schools event.

The Community Partners Leadership Team, which serves as a link between FCPS and local supporters, facilitates the awards. This group includes representatives from more than two dozen organizations that provide substantial time, funds, and other resources for students, teachers, and schools through hundreds of partnerships, mentorships, programs, and initiatives.

Contact: Miranda Scully, director of Family & Community Engagement in FCPS, 
(859) 381-4241

Posted Sept. 14, 2022