Return to Headlines

16th District PTA Presents Scholarships to 8 Seniors

The 16th District PTA, which encompasses Fayette County Public Schools, has awarded scholarships to eight seniors in the Class of 2022: 

Jordan Ferrell, Bryan Station High School -- Jordan is an avid violinist and even tutors other students in violin next door at the middle school. She has also volunteered at Cardinal Valley Elementary and Consolidated Baptist Church for Operation Christmas Child. In the past two years, Jordan has learned it is important to live your passion and be happy. She plans to attend the University of Kentucky this fall and major in Business.

Bailey Jorgensen, Lafayette High School -- Bailey has worked in equine science for five years and is FFA chapter president at Locust Trace AgriScience Center. She also volunteers at God’s Pantry Food Bank and at Paws 4 the Cause. Bailey, who is graduating a year early, will attend Murray State and major in Veterinary Technology.

Joy Ntakarutimana, Tates Creek High School -- Joy is an active member in the marching band, winter guard, and choral programs. She also participates in theater and book club. She has received several awards for math as well as choir and color guard. She attended the Governor’s Scholars Program and is a member of the school’s Beta Club and the National Honor Society. Joy has not decided on which college, but she will major in Biology.

Layla Angeles Plakosh, STEAM Academy -- Layla is active in orchestra and track & field, and she has served as a camp counselor and KYA member. She has also volunteered for multiple political campaigns and supported voter registration drives. She plans to attend UK this fall and major in Economics.

DaMonte Tompkins, Frederick Douglass High School --  As the oldest of six siblings, DaMonte wants nothing more than to set a positive example for his brothers and sisters by obtaining a college degree. As a football player, he understands the importance of discipline and hard work. He will attend the University of Louisville in the fall.

Molly Wilcoxson, Henry Clay High School -- Molly is a member of the Student Council, Young Democrats, and the National Honor Society. She also volunteers at the Living Arts & Science Center and at Compassionate Lexington, and holds leadership positions in the Crestwood Christian Church’s youth group. Molly received the Biddle Founders Award for Excellence in Leadership. She is undecided on which college, but plans to major in Sociology.

Audrey Wirasakti, Lafayette High School -- Audrey is in Lafayette’s pre-engineering program, serves as an officer in Beta Club, and is a member of the National Honor Society and the varsity archery team. She is also a community volunteer and has interned at UK’s College of Agriculture and at Black Soil. Audrey is undecided about which college, but plans to major in Food Science.

Lynn Ye, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School -- Lynn clearly does all things math! She is an MIT Math for Girls qualifier, has worked as a Mathnasium instructor, and been an assistant coach for Winburn Middle School’s MathCounts team. Lynn is also a Central Kentucky Regional Science & Engineering Fair first-place winner, she received the Yale Science & Engineering Award, and she competed in the Kentucky High School Speech League. Lynn plans to attend MIT and major in Mathematics.

From left: Jordan Ferrell, Molly Wilcoxson, Layla Angeles Plakosh, Lynn Ye, Audrey Wirasakti, and Bailey Jorgensen. Not pictured: Joy Ntakarutimana and DaMonte Tompkins (Photo provided by PTA)

Resources: 16th District PTA

Posted May 24, 2022