Return to Headlines

Urban League Salutes 2022 Academic Challenge II Scholarship Winners

The Urban League of Lexington’s Academic Challenge II program, which encourages student achievement and family engagement, provides college scholarships for students attending Title I schools in Fayette County. With ongoing COVID-19 concerns, the program continued a second year of individual competition in spring 2022. Nearly 300 students in grades 3, 4, 5, and 8 participated in the April 9 virtual challenge, which featured on-demand writing or math/science prompts. Volunteers scored their answers and chose six winners per grade. Congratulations to all! 

Grade 3: Midway University scholarships

  • Norlin Anamartha, Glendover
  • Lily Dunford, Sandersville
  • Nancy Quevada Jimenez, Sandersville
  • Aysam Masri, Dixie Magnet
  • Liam Robinson, Yates
  • Zachary Taylor, Ashland

Grade 4: Morehead State University scholarships

  • Bibhani Basnet, Breckinridge
  • Michael Gomez, Deep Springs
  • Prikash Kharel, Glendover
  • Bingqi “Pinkie” Lin, Meadowthorpe
  • Hilal Mishbah, Glendover
  • Kambryn Smith, Breckinridge

Grade 5: Bluegrass Community & Technical College scholarships

  • Andrei Cornea, Meadowthorpe
  • Janelle Dang, Tates Creek
  • Britain Haynes, Lansdowne
  • Ishaan Joshi, Meadowthorpe
  • Ruby Kirkland, Tates Creek
  • Stephany Lion, Meadowthorpe

Grade 8: Urban League of Lexington scholarships

  • Isabelle Dinh, Leestown
  • CeCe Mendes, Lexington Traditional Magnet School (LTMS)
  • Tristan Spencer, Leestown
  • Ayumi Tarianto, LTMS
  • Graciela Tovar, Bryan Station
  • Katherine Zhang, Winburn

Contact: Annissa Franklin, chief administrative officer of the Urban League of Lexington/Fayette County, (859) 233-1561

Posted May 5, 2022