Return to Headlines

Dunbar rakes in 2022 Best of Fair regional science awards

Students from Paul Laurence Dunbar High School swept the Best of Fair awards at the 2022 Central Kentucky Science & Engineering Fair, which went virtual Feb. 26-27. First place overall went to Sireesha Gutti in Cellular & Molecular Biology, second to Saadhavi Maskey in Biochemistry, and third to Irving Morris in Animal Sciences. They qualify for the Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair in early May.

Congratulations to the rest of our regional category winners as well. The winners and runners-up advance to the state competition on March 26.

High school division (all from Dunbar unless noted)

Animal Sciences: 1st place to McKenna Sun; 3rd, Faisal Syed

Behavioral & Social Sciences: 1st, Caitlyn Smith; 2nd, Nicholas Atchison; 3rd to Sara Falluji

Biochemistry: 2nd, John Blair

Biomedical Engineering: 1st, Katherine Hazelwood

Biomedical & Health Sciences: 1st, Sophie Hildebrandt; 2nd, Ibrahim Amjad; 3rd, Jaris Bloom-Doyle

Cellular & Molecular Biology: 2nd, Emily Wang; 3rd, Caroline Devine

Chemistry: 1st, Elizabeth Elliott

Computational Biology & Bioinformatics: 1st, Joanna Cholewo; 2nd, Lynn Ye; 3rd, Emily Xiao

Earth & Environmental Science: 1st, Edward Donson; 2nd, John Sader; 3rd, Mike Coleman

Embedded Systems: 1st, Victor Gao; 2nd Luca Thorson

Engineering Technology / Statics & Dynamics: 1st, Emily Hu; 2nd, Yoshinobu Tabita; 3rd, Andrew Liu

Environmental Engineering: 2nd Eric Chen; 3rd, Parker Nurick

Mathematics: 1st, Thomas Ehrenborg of Henry Clay; 1st, Ayush Tibrewal

Materials Science: 1st, Alexandra Seesee; 2nd (team) Kian Rosenau and Mohit Patel

Physics & Astronomy: 1st, Teerth Patel; 1st, Blake Cooper; 3rd, Luke Anderson

Plant Sciences: 1st, Jamari Taylor of Frederick Douglass; 2nd, Toni Adedokun of Lafayette; 3rd, Skyler Trowel

Robotics & Intelligent Machines: 1st, Varun Hariprasad; 2nd (team) to Daniel Strode, Alden Yorba, and Connor Zhang; 3rd, Krishna Bhatraju

Systems Software: 1st (team), Samuel Joyner and Pavan Rauch; 2nd, Angela Zhang; 3rd, Jack Smoroske

Translational Medical Science: 1st, Ana Maria Cornea; 2nd, Anna Chen; 3rd, Jason Zhang

Middle school division (grades 5-8)

Animal Sciences: 1st place, Hajira Syed of Beaumont; 3rd, Ansley Schill of Garrett Morgan

Behavioral & Social Sciences: 1st, Katherine Haynes of Morton; 2nd, Audrey Baxter and Avery Thompson of Stonewall

Biomedical & Health Sciences: 1st, Stina Bauer of Morton; 2nd, Ainjini Patra of Tates Creek; 3rd, Lois Badgett of Morton

Cellular & Molecular Biology: 1st, William Pearcy of Beaumont

Chemistry: 1st Oleksandr Havrylyuk of Beaumont; 2nd, Jacob Hall of Edythe J. Hayes; 3rd, Louis DeSalvo of Beaumont

Earth & Environmental Science: 1st, Haasini Beeram of SCAPA at Bluegrass; 1st, Joshua Jeong of Rosa Parks; 3rd, Aaron George of SCAPA; 4th, Emma Natof of Beaumont

Engineering Technology / Statics & Dynamics: 1st, Lars Myrup of Morton

Materials Science: 2nd, Tyler McSpadden of Beaumont

Mathematics: 1st, Sashank Jagannathan of Hayes

Microbiology: 2nd, Sarah Craven of Tates Creek Middle 

Physics & Astronomy: 1st, Nathan Nanninga of Beaumont; 2nd, Ava Pelphrey of Morton; 3rd, Vihaan Vekaria of Wellington

Plant Sciences: 1st, Neya Sathya of SCAPA; 2nd, Nakul Agastya of Meadowthorpe; 3rd, Ghadeer Al Zubade of Morton

Robotics & Intelligent Machines: 1st, Jayden Jeong of Beaumont; 2nd, Kate Hastings of Morton

Fourth grade division

Behavioral & Social Sciences: 1st place, Colin McGowan of Ashland Elementary; 2nd to Catherine Hubbard of Cassidy

Chemistry: 1st, Carly Repass of Ashland; 2nd, Lucy Bell of Cassidy

Earth & Environmental Sciences: 1st, Daniel Whitley of Sandersville; 2nd, Avery Curry of Garrett Morgan

Engineering: 1st, Pinkie Lin of Meadowthorpe; 2nd, Beck Bailey of Clays Mill

Medical & Health Sciences: 1st, Emerson Van Metre of Cassidy; 2nd, Lidia            Mongiardo of Maxwell

Microbiology: 1st, Aria Reynolds of Brenda Cowan; 2nd, Claira Dominick of Meadowthorpe

Physics & Astronomy: 1st: Delilah Gooch of Clays Mill; 2nd, Spencer Gibson of Clays Mill

Plant Sciences: 1st, Kohki Kawashima of Veterans Park; 2nd, Maren Hoffman and Morgan Miller of Ashland

Contact: David Helm, science instructional specialist in FCPS, (859) 608-3781

Rev. March 8, posted March 7, 2022