Return to Headlines

Beta Club members earn honors at 2022 state conventions

Several Beta Clubs represented Fayette County Public Schools well in Kentucky’s 2022 elementary, junior, and senior state conventions this month in Louisville. Here are top honors received in their respective divisions.

From Brenda Cowan Elementary

  • Creative Writing: 2nd place to Stella Blue Holder
  • Math (5th grade): 1st place to Brandon Tedja

From Bryan Station Middle School

  • Color Photography: 1st place to Sophia Keefe
  • Poetry: 5th to Alex Starkey
  • Quiz Bowl, oral: 5th place (team)
  • Quiz Bowl, written: 4th place (team)

From Edythe J. Hayes Middle School

  • Performing Arts (solo): 1st place to Noah Wong on violin

From Leestown Middle School

  • Science (7th grade): 4th place to Odessa Merrick

From Bryan Station High School

  • Poetry (Division 2): 2nd place to Ella Morgan
  • Social Studies (11th grade): 5th to Frances Kilgore
  • Spanish (10th grade): 5th to Thomas Grant
  • Spanish (11th grade): 2nd place to Jett Norton
  • Spanish (12th grade): 4th to James Grant

From Paul Laurence Dunbar High School

  • Marketing & Communications: 3rd place (team)
  • Math (12th grade): 1st place to Ayush Tibrewal
  • Science (10th grade): 4th to Vijay Karthikeyan
  • Science (12th grade): 4th to McKenna Sun

National Beta Club promotes the ideals of academic achievement, character, service, and leadership. For more about local chapters in FCPS, please contact your school’s club sponsor.

Source: National Beta Club

(Posted Jan. 24, 2022)