Return to Headlines

Middle school academic teams first at bat in 2022 Governor’s Cup

FCPS middle school teams launched the 2022 Governor’s Cup with geographical district-level contests that wrapped up Jan. 15. As Kentucky’s premier academic competition, Governor’s Cup encourages depth and breadth of knowledge, cultural literacy, teamwork, leadership, creativity, risk assessment, and critical thinking, and it provides the fun of being part of a team.

Following are the latest middle school highlights from Fayette County Public Schools, plus the complete results by district.

District 53 results

  • Overall team standings: Winburn, first place
  • Individual winners, all from Winburn: math, Yi Zheng; science, Henry Cheves; social studies, Avneesh Kudrimoti; language arts, Solomon Corkran; arts and humanities, Gauri Joshi; composition, Laween Ismaail

District 54 results

  • Overall team standings: Tates Creek, first place; Jessie Clark, second; Edythe J. Hayes, fourth
  • Individual winners: math, Michael Fan of Tates Creek; science, Karthika Hariprasad of Jessie Clark; social studies, Neihal Saini of Tates Creek; arts and humanities, Nikhil Venkateswaran of Tates Creek; composition, Addison Moore of Hayes

District 55 results

  • Overall team standings: Beaumont, first place; Southern, second
  • Individual winners, all from Beaumont: math, Kishan Amin; science, Saikeerthi Doppalapudi; social studies: Shreyas Kandlakunta; language arts: Ahaan Thomas; arts and humanities, Arham Farhan; composition, Naren Nandanoor

District 56 results

  • Overall team standings: Bryan Station, second place
  • Individual winners, all from Bryan Station: math, Storey (Jef) Lowry; social studies, Ryan Brandenburg; composition, Edith Ingram

The middle grades and high school divisions of Governor’s Cup include district, regional, and state competition. Elementary students participate only in district and regional contests. This year’s middle school regionals conclude Feb. 5, and the state finals are March 18-21 in Louisville.

Source: Kentucky Association for Academic Competition

(Posted Jan. 20, 2022)