Return to Headlines

Special Ed staff honored by Kentucky colleagues

Two associate directors in our Special Education Department have received notable recognition from their colleagues this fall. Becky Dahlstrom is the state’s 2021 Outstanding Special Education Administrator of the Year, and Adam Liechty is a Regional Best Practice Award winner. 

 Becky DahlstromDuring the annual Kentucky Exceptional Children’s Conference in Louisville, Dahlstrom accepted the award that cites distinguished leadership and the development of innovative programming. In addition to supporting our middle schools, she oversees the district’s occupational therapists, physical therapists, and deaf-and-hard-of-hearing programs. “We are extremely fortunate to have her on our team,” said Amanda Dennis, director of Special Education for Fayette County Public Schools. 

Adam Liechty

Meanwhile, each year the Kentucky Association for Psychology in the Schools (KAPS) gives out Regional Best Practice Awards. Liechty, who represents the Central Kentucky area, drew praise for his leadership and use of national best practices. In FCPS, Liechty oversees student evaluations, the school psychologists, board certified behavior analysts, registered behavior technicians, and two resource specialists. He also helps with programs that support children with autism, students with behavior difficulties, and those learning English.

Resources: Council for Exceptional Children and Kentucky Association for Psychology in the Schools

(Posted Dec. 8, 2021)