Return to Headlines

FCPS boasts 3 dozen semifinalists for 2022 National Merit Scholarships

Fayette County Public Schools has produced three dozen semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students are among some 16,000 outstanding high school seniors who will compete for nearly $30 million in awards next spring.  

From Bryan Station: Larae Jackson and Erin Kendall

From Henry Clay: Jacob Cunnagin, Eleanor Dyer, Jacob Ehl, Maggie Ferguson, Grayson Kemplin, Zachary Rossi, and Katherine Taylor

From Lafayette: Madeleine Lepley and Abraham Nelson

From Paul Laurence Dunbar: Luke Anderson, Nicholas Atchison, Benjamin Bratten, Anna Chen, Elizabeth Elliott, Katherine Hazelwood, Judy Lee, Saadhavi Maskey, Sarah Ming, Irving Morris, Teerth Patel, Pavan Rauch, John Sader, Alexandra Seesee, Caitlyn Smith, Jackson Smoroske, McKenna Sun, Luca Thorson, Ayush Tibrewal, Emily Xiao, Lynn Ye, Angela Zhang, Ian Zhang, Jason Zhang, and Chandler Zhu

High school juniors entered the 2022 competition by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screening. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Typically, over 90 percent of semifinalists advance in February, and about half of those finalists ultimately receive scholarships based on their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The winner announcements come in four waves from April through July, including awards for corporate-sponsored scholarships, $2,500 National Merit scholarships, and college-sponsored scholarships. The National Merit Scholarship Corp., businesses, and higher education institutions underwrite the awards.

(Posted Sept. 15, 2021)