Return to Headlines

KMEA District 7 taps three from FCPS for 2021 awards

Joe Gibson  Bill Kite  Kailey Holmes 

KMEA District 7 selected three outstanding educators from Fayette County Public Schools as 2021 award winners this fall:

  • Joe Gibson, the principal at Leestown, as Middle School Administrator of the Year;
  • Bill Kite, the band director at Henry Clay, as High School Teacher of the Year; and
  • Kailey Holmes, the music teacher at Stonewall, as Elementary Teacher of the Year.

Members of the Kentucky Music Educators Association announced the awards during their Aug. 30 conference, which met virtually because of COVID-19 precautions. In other honors, two FCPS ensembles were invited to perform during the 2022 KMEA state conference in early February in Louisville:

  • Leestown's 7th and 8th grade orchestra, conducted by Nathan Wilson; and
  • Frederick Douglass High School’s symphony orchestra, conducted by Sarah Payne, Matthew Skaggs, and Andrew Osbourne.


For questions, please email Michael Payne at Bryan Station High School, the KMEA District 7 president.

(Revised Dec. 6, posted Sept. 8, 2021)