Return to Headlines

Two FCPS Police officers to receive recognition for service

The Kentucky Association of School Resource Officers has selected Eileen Welch, who retired this month after 35 years of service in Fayette County Public Schools, as the 2021 Kentucky SRO of the Year. She will be the first woman to receive this statewide honor. In addition, FCPS Police Officer Myron Pedroche is the Central Kentucky Region SRO of the Year. They will receive the awards in late July during the association’s conference in Louisville. 

Welch, who retired as a Henry Clay High School officer, previously received the Lexington Rotary Club Service Over Self Award in 2019. “She has a skillset that is unlike any officer we have, and her impact on students is unequalled. She truly cares about the well-being of students to include education and character development,” said FCPS Police Chief Martin Schafer. “She has spent countless personal time and money mentoring and guiding the students at HCHS. She will be missed, but her impact on students and our school district will remain for many years.” 

Pedroche has been based at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School since 2015. He also serves several elementary schools in that area of town.

Officer Eileen Welch and Chief Martin Schafer (file photo)  Officer Myron Pedroche gets into the Dr. Seuss spirit for elementary students (file photo)

(Posted May 17, 2021)

Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236