Return to Headlines

Urban League announces 2021 Academic Challenge II scholarship winners

The Urban League of Lexington’s Academic Challenge II program encourages student achievement and family engagement and provides college scholarships for students attending Title I schools in Fayette County. Given the COVID-19 safety protocols, the program transitioned to an individual student competition in 2020-21. Students in grades 3, 4, 5, and 8 participated in this virtual challenge, and the FCPS district coordinating team scored their answers. Congratulations to these two dozen award winners! 

Eastern Kentucky University scholarships for third graders

  • Areej Al-Khaled, Glendover
  • Charlie Tracy, Dixie Magnet
  • Yunia Emilia Huffman, Glendover
  • Prikash Kharel, Glendover
  • Eric Noh, Meadowthorpe
  • Leyla Tatum, Millcreek 

Morehead State University scholarships for fourth graders

  • Janelle Dang, Tates Creek
  • Ishaan  Joshi, Meadowthorpe
  • Yangzi Liu, Meadowthorpe
  • Charlotte Pham, Tates Creek
  • Jennifer Sangabriel-Carmona, Mary Todd
  • Havi Sheth, Meadowthorpe 

Bluegrass Community & Technical College scholarships for fifth graders

  • Kolton Adkins, Sandersville
  • Demarie Afuseh, Coventry Oak
  • Reginae Beavers, Yates
  • Zoe Davis, Tates Creek
  • Rhys Fraser, Tates Creek
  • Miranda Soto Martínez, Dixie Magnet 

Urban League of Lexington scholarships for eighth graders

  • Jamontie Lamb, Leestown
  • Bradyn Dean, Tates Creek Middle
  • Natalie Helm, Leestown
  • Sohan Parsi, Leestown
  • Elyse Sparks, Leestown
  • Addison Wright, Bryan Station Middle 

For questions, please email Annissa Franklin, chief administrative officer of the Urban League of Lexington/Fayette County, or call (859) 233-1561.

(Posted April 23, 2021) 


Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236