Return to Headlines

Henry Clay senior leads the way in KYNSDA as speech & debate students look toward 2021 nationals

Lindsey Guilford The Kentucky District of the National Speech & Debate Association has selected Lindsey Guilford, a senior at Henry Clay High School, as 2021 District Student of the Year. Her coach, Ryan Ray, nominated his speech team captain for this award, citing Lindsey’s strong academic record, speech/debate accomplishments, local theater roles, and leadership qualities. “Lindsey is the top NSDA point leader in Kentucky and is in the top 50 students nationally,” Ray wrote. “This young woman is also humble. Her integrity is unparalleled on our team, and she is one of the most respectful students I’ve ever worked with.”

In other honors, Henry Clay received the District Plaque and won the Debate Sweepstakes, and Lafayette High School topped the Congress Sweepstakes in this spring’s competition. In addition, several students from Fayette County Public Schools qualified for nationals* by virtue of their outstanding efforts in these state contests:​


  • 1st - Ayush Tibrewal, Paul Laurence Dunbar*
  • 2nd - Julianne Sharpe, Lafayette*
  • 4th - Logan Ward, Lafayette


  • 3rd - Cayla Barreiro, Henry Clay

Dramatic Interpretation

  • 1st - Lindsey Guilford, Henry Clay*

Duo Interpretation

  • 2nd – Andrew Liu & Edward Donson, Dunbar*

Program Oral Interpretation

  • 3rd - Edward Donson, Dunbar
  • 5th - Sophia Zhou, Dunbar*

Public Forum Debate qualifiers

  • Maeve Whitlock & Jillian Zhu, Henry Clay*
  • Karson Whitley & Justine Lofwall, Henry Clay*
  • Tag Howard & Jasir Rahman, Henry Clay*
  • Emery Elkinson & Madeline Deep, Henry Clay*

Lincoln-Douglas Debate qualifier

  • ​Cayla Barreiro, Henry Clay*

* These students are part of the Kentucky delegation to the national tournament, which will be online June 13-19 because of COVID-19 precautions. Note: Some students qualified for more than one event, but they can only compete in one event at nationals.

(Posted April 8, 2021)

Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236