Return to Headlines

Clark named Corporate Advocate of the Year

Marilyn Clark  Marilyn Clark, manager of Economic Development and Supplier Diversity for Fayette County Public Schools, was named Corporate Advocate of the Year by the Women’s Business Enterprise Council Ohio River Valley (WBEC ORV) during its 2020 conference in late September. “I love, love my work with businesses in this most important space of K-12 education. This is my passion, my calling,” said Clark, who believes economics and education have a parallel mission. 

“When we open access and opportunities for businesses in our community, we can begin to erase historical economic and educational gaps because the two are inextricably tied together. So it is important to support and advocate for organizations that do this work on a regional and national level like the WBEC ORV, the TriState Minority Supplier Development Council, and the National Veteran-Owned Business Association,” she said. 

A native of Odessa, Texas, Clark majored in Broadcast Communications and minored in Journalism at the University of North Texas in Denton. She later received an Executive MBA through a joint program with the University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville. Clark, who has worked in Fayette County Public Schools since July 2015, was one of four nominees for this year’s corporate advocate award. 

“Marilyn is passionate about creating procurement opportunities for WBEs (women’s business enterprises), particularly in the Lexington area,” said Sheila A. Mixon, senior vice president of WBEC ORV. “She has been invested in the success of the Lexington WBE Forum luncheons by inviting non-certified women business owners to attend, learn about certification, and network with other WBEs. She serves as a mentor to WBEs, introduces other organizations to WBEC ORV to become corporate members, and is an active member of the WBEC ORV steering committee. For these reasons, Marilyn is truly a worthy recipient of this award.”

(Posted Oct. 13, 2020) 

Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236