Return to Headlines

Sixty-three accepted in 2020 Governor’s Scholars Program

Fayette County Public Schools boasted 63 students in the 2020 Governor’s Scholars Program, a modified version amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Congratulations to the following: 

From Bryan Station High School

  • Caitlin Deffendall
  • Zach Henz
  • Anna Seebold 

Frederick Douglass High School

  • Kaitlyn Brock
  • Zen Kropp
  • Lizzie Rice 

Henry Clay High School

  • Sneha Amrit
  • Hayden Caldwell
  • Sarah Clark
  • Catherine Dalton
  • Taylor Galavotti
  • Rob Gilligan
  • Irene Kim
  • Matthew Klee
  • Elizabeth Moore
  • Madison Underwood
  • Hannah Whaley
  • Ella Young 

Lafayette High School

  • Josh Arnold
  • Cam Brooks
  • Gabe Gatsos
  • Hena Kachroo
  • Rachael Kelly
  • Lindsey Long
  • Bobby Lowther
  • Claudia Markel
  • Sonny Martin
  • Brett Painter
  • Julian Palmisano
  • Luke Ransom
  • Elizabeth Solie
  • Charlie Stephenson
  • Phoebe Wagoner
  • Helena Weiss
  • Ellen Woodward 

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School

  • Sadie Bograd
  • Benjamin Chen
  • Ben Crockett
  • Saisha Dhar
  • Joey Ilagan
  • Sanaa Kahloon
  • Nyasha Musoni
  • JoonWoo Park
  • Khalid Rashad
  • Emily Seng
  • Gabriella Staykova
  • Tharanie Subramaniam
  • Zach Susini
  • Lohith Tummala
  • Wendy Wei
  • Nancy Zhang 

STEAM Academy

  • Dexter Ollis 

Tates Creek High School

  • Sarah Ahmad
  • Liam Cercone
  • Michaela Dunson
  • Malachi Garland
  • Grace Hensley
  • Lauren Hurt
  • Faith Lindsay
  • Sofia Ricketts
  • Tess Shalash
  • Katelin Shelton
  • Sally Yousef 

Given the logistical limitations and health concerns, all selected students were deemed Governor’s Scholars regardless of participation this summer; no alternates were named. The assignment committee placed all those willing to attend a revamped residential session as GSP convened at only two campuses instead of three (Centre College in Danville and Bellarmine University in Louisville), and organizers limited the number of students in each class because of social distancing rules. The final session concluded Aug. 1. 

The Governor’s Scholars Program strives to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders. Established in 1983, the program provides academic and personal growth through the balance of a strong liberal arts program with a full co-curricular and residential life experience. For questions, email Beth Carrier.

(Posted Aug. 9, 2020) 

Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236