Return to Headlines

KET’s Young Writers Contest recognizes talent from FCPS

KET’s Young Writers Contest encourages creative expression and literacy development by inviting students in kindergarten through 12th grade to submit original illustrated stories, short stories, and poetry. For 2020, KET received more than 1,300 entries from across Kentucky, 30 other states, Puerto Rico, a U.S. military post in Germany, Thailand, Canada, and China. 

Following are the honorees from Fayette County Public Schools. 

Illustrated stories / kindergarten

Illustrated stories / first grade

  • Finalist: Lucy Anna Kirkland of Rosa Parks Elementary
  • Honorable mention: Kumar Chetan Puli of Rosa Parks Elementary

Illustrated stories / third grade

  • Finalistss: Caitlyn Douglas of Ashland Elementary and Carson Fair of Rosa Parks Elementary

Poetry / intermediate

  • Finalist: Lily Tay of SCAPA at Bluegrass 

Short stories / intermediate 

  • 2nd place: Fatima Khan of Rosa Parks Elementary, “Earth to Jenny”
  • Finalists: Jaykeb McCoun, Evelyn Afenya, Eric Gordon, and Daniel Liew, all of Meadowthorpe Elementary

Poetry / middle school 

  • Finalists: Athena Mandzy and Nina Tay of SCAPA, and Kelly Keniston of Leestown Middle School 

Short stories / middle school

  • Finalists: Hannah Clark of Bryan Station Middle and Emily Yoder of Edythe J. Hayes Middle

Short stories / high school 

  • Finalists: Kiera Fehr and Sophia Li, both of Henry Clay High School 

For questions, please call KET at (859) 258-7242.



Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236