Return to Headlines

Henry Clay earns Debate School of Honor accolades from NSDA

Henry Clay High School was deemed a Debate School of Honor during the National Speech and Debate Association’s 2020 national tournament, and Santiago O’Neil represented Kentucky as the NSDA Student of the Year in the district. Among the team highlights, Jack Lofwall was the eighth-place speaker out of 264 students in Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

NSDA moved its competition online amid COVID-19 restrictions. The tournament had been slated for June 14-20 in Albuquerque, New Mexico. For more details, please contact Henry Clay team adviser Ryan Ray

Did you know? Henry Clay’s debate team captured its seventh straight state championship this spring, earning the Sustained Excellence Trophy and Coach of the Year honors for Ray.

Henry Clay's participants at NSDA nationals

Clockwise from top right: Henry Clay’s participants in the NSDA tournament were Santiago O’Neil, Jasir Rahman, Tag Howard, Karson Whitley, Justine Lofwall, Lindsey Guilford, adviser Ryan Ray, Kirsten Couly, Samantha Hacker, Cole Knight, and Jack Lofwall. (Photos provided)



Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236