Return to Headlines

Winners crowned after virtual STLP State Championship

Kentucky’s 2020 Student Technology Leadership Program (STLP) State Championship had a different look because of COVID-19 pandemic restrictions. The spring competition – normally held at Rupp Arena with 15,000 students, teachers, and family members in tow – went virtual instead. The awards ceremony then aired May 8 on the Kentucky Department of Education’s media portal. Fayette County Public Schools boasted winners in several Digital Products categories. 


1st place (K-5): Lily in a Jar by Madison Morrow of Wellington Elementary

1st place (grades 6-8): Metamorphosis by Neilsen Park of Bryan Station Middle School

2nd place (grades 9-12): Misfit by Deja Baker of Bryan Station High School 


2nd place (K-5): Crazy John by Emma Wedgworth of Wellington Elementary

2nd place (9-12): Better Days by Tanner Morgan of Bryan Station High School 


1st place (6-8): Vegetation of Envy by Kiara Thompson of Tates Creek Middle School 

Girls Who Code

1st place (6-12): BSMS GWC by team from Bryan Station Middle School 

Graphic Design

2nd place (9-12): 10-Minute Playfest by Paige Hensley of Frederick Douglass High School 

Manipulated Image

1st place (9-12): This is Me by Grace Brown of Bryan Station High School 


1st place (9-12): Captain Clean Lung by team from Frederick Douglass High School

In addition, after an interview process, several students from FCPS were tapped as Service Team Members.

Engineering – for leadership and technical support at the STLP State Championship and the KySTE conference: Jack Tattershall of Lafayette High School

Media Arts -- to create short films highlighting events at the STLP State Championship: Asa Simmons, Hayden Fugate, and Jacob Martin, all of Crawford Middle School

Social Media -- to promote state events via STLP social media platforms and help announce Wall of Winners finalists: Rishita Sontenam of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School

For general questions about STLP, please email FCPS digital learning coach Julie Gaskin.



Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236