Return to Headlines

Four in Class of 2020 receive corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships

Four seniors in Fayette County Public Schools are among Kentucky’s 14 recipients of 2020 corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards. The district salutes their efforts. 

From Henry Clay High School 

  • Natalie Hayslip, with a probable career field of oncology; backed by AbbVie Inc.
  • Briana Thompson, psychology; UPS Foundation

From Paul Laurence Dunbar High School 

  • David Manche, aerospace engineering; Schneider Electric North America Foundation
  • Graeme Marshall, electrical engineering; Fifth Third Foundation

More than 150 corporations, company foundations, and business organizations provided awards for about 1,000 National Merit finalists who are children of their employees, live in communities the company serves, or plan to pursue college majors or careers the sponsor wishes to encourage. Most of these winners, who were announced April 22, will receive annual stipends ranging from $1,000 to $10,000 that are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study. Some awards provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. 

In the National Merit Scholarship Corp.’s annual program, winners are the finalists deemed to have the strongest combination of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. In addition to the corporate-sponsored group, recipients of this year’s $2,500 awards will be announced May 13 and winners of college-sponsored merit scholarships on June 3 and July 13. By the end, some 7,600 seniors will have received scholarships worth over $30 million.



Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236