Return to Headlines

Nearly 20 more educators add National Board Certification

Seventeen Fayette County educators have recently earned their National Board Certification, which is a demonstration of practice as measured against high and rigorous standards. Congratulations to:

  • Mary Buzard, Maxwell Elementary
  • Angela Dalton, Stonewall Elementary
  • Tiffany Disponett, Cardinal Valley Elementary
  • Daniel Folk, Bryan Station High School
  • Stephanie Hatfield, Liberty Elementary
  • Kayla Hinton, Booker T. Washington Elementary
  • Micah Keller, Clays Mill Elementary
  • Amanda Lee, Stonewall Elementary
  • Elizabeth Lehman, Athens-Chilesburg Elementary
  • Maria McCallister, Yates Elementary
  • Laura McMahan, Breckinridge Elementary
  • Shaun Owens, Bryan Station High School
  • Sarah Powell, Athens-Chilesburg Elementary
  • Austen Reilley, Garden Springs Elementary
  • Kay Snyder, Garden Springs Elementary
  • Megan Suttles, Tates Creek High School; and
  • Charles Weitkamp, Leestown Middle School

These bring the total to 205 throughout Fayette County Public Schools, including 10 already-certified educators who joined the district in the 2019-20 school year:

  • Megan Barnes, Brenda Cowan Elementary
  • Janet Bauer, Leestown Middle
  • Heather Craft, Dixie Magnet Elementary
  • Lorrie Devers, The Academy for Leadership at Millcreek Elementary
  • Kimberly Grimes, Squires Elementary
  • Michelle Praria, Garden Springs Elementary
  • Shannon Stinson, Assessment Literacy (central office)
  • Courtney Sullivan-Staples, Liberty Elementary
  • Heather Whyte, Liberty Elementary
  • Carl Willoughby, Edythe J. Hayes Middle School

National Board Certification generally takes one to three years to complete. To be considered, educators are assessed on portfolios containing classroom videos that reflect their teaching style, student work samples, and documentation of their impact as a teaching professional. Candidates are also tested on knowledge specific to their field. 

For questions about the process or the lists above, please call Laura Art in Human Resources, (859) 381-4277.



Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236