Return to Headlines

Students gain insight into state government through 2019 Kentucky Youth Assembly

In the Kentucky Youth Assembly, middle and high school students serve as part of a model state government in a three-day experiential learning program. KYA provides them opportunities to explore a variety of issues, enhance critical thinking skills, and express their beliefs while engaging constructively with peers from around the state.

Groups from Fayette County Public Schools participated in several 2019 sessions in Louisville during the fall semester. Following are highlights and honors.

Middle schools 

  • Premiere delegations: Winburn and Edythe J. Hayes
  • Outstanding delegates: Beau Hudson of Hayes and Aaron Cook of Winburn
  • Outstanding speakers: Chakra Gudlavalleti of Winburn and Parker Heilig of Hayes
  • Presiding officers (2019):Jamison Gordon of Hayes (now at Frederick Douglass High School), president of the Senate; and Chloe Sachs of Winburn (now at Henry Clay High School), lieutenant governor 

High schools 

  • Premiere delegations: Tates Creek, Lafayette, Henry Clay, and STEAM Academy
  • Outstanding delegates: Hannah Rowe of STEAM, Izabella Ramey of Tates Creek, Lea Yiannikouris of Paul Laurence Dunbar, Anna Bird-Pollan of Henry Clay, Nate Barker of Lafayette, and Camryn Spurlock of Douglass
  • Outstanding lobbyist: Phoebe Wagoner of Lafayette
  • Outstanding statesmanship: Lafayette
  • Outstanding speakers: Kinsleigh Jones of Tates Creek, Walker Prather of Lafayette, Ryan Sullivan and Will Byerman of Henry Clay, Zoe Jenkins of Dunbar, and Alli Condi of Douglass
  • Presiding officers (2019): Nick Skidmore of Lafayette, governor; Nasim Mohammadzadeh of Dunbar, speaker of the House; and Beau Norton of Henry Clay, lieutenant governor  
  • Elected officers (2020): Bobby Lowther of Lafayette, chief justice; and Ashley Armstrong of Lafayette, president of the Bluegrass Senate

For questions about KYA, please contact East Region Director Ryan Simpson at (502) 227-7028.



Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236