Return to Headlines

Five cheer squads qualify for 2019 state championships

After strong performances in the Region 6 competition, five cheer squads from four high schools in FCPS qualified for the 2019 state championships. Here are their regional finishes:

  • Super division: first place, Henry Clay;
  • Large: first, Paul Laurence Dunbar; second, Frederick Douglass;
  • Medium: second, Lafayette;
  • Co-ed: first, Lafayette.

Also, in the Game Day division, Dunbar placed fourth, Tates Creek fifth, and Bryan Station eighth.

From the eight regions, the winner and runner-up in each division advance to the KHSAA State Competitive Cheer Championships on Dec. 14 in Alltech Arena at the Kentucky Horse Park. For questions, please email KHSAA Assistant Commissioner Sarah Bridenbaugh.



Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236