Return to Headlines

Theater groups put forth best efforts in central region

Groups from Tates Creek, Frederick Douglass, and Lafayette high schools earned Outstanding Production honors in the Kentucky Theatre Association’s central region and qualified for the 2019 state festival competition Nov. 22-24 in Louisville. 

An Outstanding Performer award went to Paige Hensley from Douglass, and four students made the Nov. 2 regional’s all-star cast: Daniel Baesler from Lafayette, Libby Hunstad from Bryan Station, Joseph Ntakarutimana from Tates Creek, and Tanner Peck from Douglass. 

Four schools also received Judges Discretionary Awards:

  • Outstanding Vocals – Lafayette;
  • Outstanding Vocal/Physical Characterization – Tates Creek;
  • Best Scene Work – Frederick Douglass;
  • Honorable Mention: Original Play – Bryan Station. 

At the state conference, as many as 12 qualifying schools will present their 45-minute productions in front of their peers and a panel of judges as they compete for awards. Schools that did not advance are also encouraged to attend not only to see the other shows but also to take part in the exciting workshops and meet with representatives from area colleges and universities.



Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236