Return to Headlines

Tates Creek Elementary named a 2019 National Green Ribbon School

Green Ribbon Schools logo

Tates Creek Elementary is among the 2019 National Green Ribbon Schools, having demonstrated excellence and commitment in all three areas of sustainability: building efficiency, environmental literacy, and student/staff wellness. Among its strong points, TCE is the first school in the district to hire a full‐time wellness coach, and each classroom has a “wellness corner” to help students feel calm and focused. TCE also offers yoga to adults after school and Girls on the Run for fourth- and fifth-graders. In addition, students cultivate a vegetable garden in the courtyard, lights are on automatic shut-off, bathrooms feature air dryers, and rubberized nonslip flooring lessens the need for chemical waxing. Tates Creek has also planted trees on school grounds, added water-bottle filling stations, and eliminated straws in the cafeteria, among other initiatives. 

Several schools were recognized at this spring’s KGHS Youth Summit, including the Academy for Leadership at Millcreek Elementary, Morton Middle (model site), and Bryan Station High School as a Kentucky Green & Healthy School; and SCAPA at Bluegrass as recipient of the Junior Level Youth Award from the Kentucky National Energy Education Development Project. 

2018-19 highlights throughout FCPS 

  • Go Green + Earn -- Thirty-three schools earned nearly $14,000 to reinvest in student-driven sustainability improvement projects.
  • Earth Week’s Battle of the Buildings -- Nine schools each earned $500 for reducing electricity usage by 10% or more compared to a year ago: Arlington, Cardinal Valley, Mary Todd, Millcreek, Southern, and Yates elementaries; Southern Middle, Tates Creek Middle, and Locust Trace AgriScience Center.
  • Spring Break Shutdown Checklist -- Seven schools earned $100 for having 50% or more of their faculty/staff submit a checklist: Meadowthorpe and Millcreek elementaries; Tates Creek Middle; Bryan Station and Frederick Douglass high schools; STEAM Academy; and The Learning Center. 

For questions about these awards or related initiatives in Fayette County Public Schools, please visit or contact Tresine Logsdon, the district’s energy and sustainability curriculum coordinator.


Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236