Return to Headlines

Meadowthorpe, Sandersville win out in 2019 Superintendent’s Cup

Elementary school teams from Meadowthorpe and Sandersville capped the 2019 Academic Challenge season with division victories in the Superintendent’s Cup. These students, along with individual winners in the on-demand math/science and writing assessments, received scholarship offers from sponsoring colleges. 

“It’s inspiring that more than a thousand students from 22 of our elementary schools participated in the Academic Challenge,” Superintendent Manny Caulk said at the March 26 awards ceremony. “This amazing opportunity shows the importance of learning at high levels. Events like this illustrate to our children that we value their intelligence."

In the finale, the top primary and intermediate teams from the three regionals squared off in the district’s Norsworthy Auditorium to field core-content questions in math, science, language arts, social studies, arts and humanities, and practical living. The team with the most points after the 18-question match was declared champion.  

Video: Awards ceremony

Primary division (grades 2-3) 

First place and winners of scholarship offers from Morehead State: Meadowthorpe (10 points, yellow region) – Joseph Caudill, Alexandra Fender, Taylor Freed, Walter Johnstone, Glory Nsonguh, and Chloe Strader. 

Runner-up: Rosa Parks (9 points, orange region) – Ashritha Kakani, Lillian Mendiondo, James Nida, Wynston Shropshire, and Anna Kate Tekulve. 

Third: Harrison (4 points, teal region) – Ezra Anglin, Alice Cottle, Davieon Williams, and Taegan Woodhead. 

Video: Primary competition

Intermediate division (grades 4-5) 

First place and winners of scholarship offers from Eastern Kentucky University: Sandersville (10 points, orange region) – Nana-Ekua Baidoo, Andrew Grace, Xavier Jackson, Ben Marsh, Chandler Puckett, and Brennan Stansbury. 

Runner-up: Tates Creek (8 points, yellow region) – Jack Beehner, Aaron Hobson, Makaila Mason, Ariadna Osorio Orduna, Ethan Wen, and Cadyn Wilkinson. 

Third: Deep Springs (6 points, teal region) – Lailand Hayes, Makaleigh Mitchell, Kaylee Ryker, Kinsley Varney, and Grace Yahr. (Sam Clough was absent because of illness.) 

Video: Intermediate competition

Individual awards

The following assessment winners, who were selected earlier, were also congratulated after the team competition.

Math & Science / Fifth-graders with scholarship offers from the University of Kentucky

  • Yellow region – first place: Isabelle Dinh (Lansdowne); second: Angelia Stephens (Squires)
  • Teal region – first place: Sophia Collins (Northern); second: Justice Cobb (Cardinal Valley)
  • Orange region – first place: Abby Burton (Cassidy); second: Andrew Grace (Sandersville)

Writing / Fourth-graders with scholarship offers from Bluegrass Community & Technical College

  • Yellow region – first place: Joel Ndayisaba (Coventry Oak); second: Riley Franco (Squires)
  • Teal region – first place: Storey Lowry (Arlington); second: Jacob Lintner (Deep Springs)
  • Orange region – first place: Aryan Bazrgari (Veterans Park); second: Haley Meszaros (Cassidy) 

Annissa Franklin of the Urban League thanked all the community supporters and college sponsors for their ongoing participation. "This amazing support will help transform our schools and our students' lives," Caulk added.

The Academic Challenge program, which is organized by the Urban League and Fayette County Public Schools, aims to instill the importance of education and help close achievement gaps through a competitive tournament that children look forward to. Students receive trophies, medals, and certificates for participating, and the sponsoring colleges extend scholarship offers in the finale.  

All students in grades 2-5 are welcome to compete; please contact the elementary school’s Academic Challenge coach in early fall to sign up a child. For 2019 competition questions, email the appropriate regional coordinator: Rhonda Parrigin (yellow), Emily Loscheider (teal), or Sydney Scott (orange). For general information, email Rose Santiago in the district’s office of Family and Community Engagement.


Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236