Return to Headlines

2019 National Merit semifinalists include 51 seniors in FCPS

Fayette County Public Schools boasts 51 semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students are among some 16,000 outstanding high school seniors who will compete for about $31 million in awards next spring.

From Henry Clay: Anna Baskin, Christopher Beebout, Luke de Castro, Gloria Dietz, Danielle Dutton, Jons Theodore Ehrenborg, Lucas Etter, Indana Fauzi, Breland Finch, and Kathleen Joseph;

From Paul Laurence Dunbar: Saif Ahmed, Katrina Baniak, Shashank Bhatt, Max Bograd, Marlene Broady, Taylor Colony, Emily Cooper, Madison Costes, Andrew Du, Rehan Ghanta, Megan Guan, Erik Han, Thomas Hulse, Kevin Jing, Caitlin LaBianca, Austin Li, Angus Maske, Ian McCauley, Benjamin McKeown, Saiprasad Naidu, Helen Pang, Ashley Rowell, Rachel Seevers, Radhika Sharma, Luke Sills, Megan Slusarewicz, Tyler Stratton, Jacob Styer, Divya Sunderam, Adam Talwalkar, Olivia Tussey, Drew Whitley, and Stephanie Yang;

From Lafayette: Catherine Donson, Helen Feibes, Lewis Hallos, Valerie Langdorf, Michael Lozovoy, Kyrsten Myrup, and Anna Watrous;

From Tates Creek: Samuel Wyse.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the competition by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screening. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. 

Typically, about 90 percent of semifinalists advance in February, and about half of those students ultimately receive scholarships. Winners are selected based on their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The announcements come in four waves from April through July, including awards for corporate-sponsored scholarships, $2,500 National Merit scholarships, and college-sponsored scholarships. 

The National Merit Scholarship Corp., businesses, and higher education institutions underwrite these awards. Visit for more details.


Tammy L. Lane, district webmaster
(859) 381-4236