Return to Headlines

Chargers Beat Crawford for 'A' League Football Championship

Leestown’s top-seeded “A” team defeated No. 2 Crawford 20-8 for the 2022 Fayette County Middle School Football Championship. The Chargers, who last won the title in 2004, went undefeated in the regular season and closed out the playoffs with a 10-0 record. They edged Winburn 30-28 in the semis to advance to the final game.

“The Leestown Chargers were led by an amazing group of eighth graders whose talent level matched their integrity on the field and in the classroom. It was a very memorable season with an incredible group of young men,” said athletic director Jill Karsner.

The “A” team included eighth graders Carlin Bizor, Caiden Bizor, Kejuan Bottoms, Freddy Canuto, Alieu Ceesay, Jamel Gibson, Eli Gibson, Conrad Hart, Jordan Haskins, Josiah Hernandez, Landon Holland, Jordan Holman, Dakari Talbert, LaRon Tanksley, Shawn Taylor, Walter Torres, Aiden Torrez, seventh graders Jake Jacobs and J'Hmari Williams, and sixth grader Easton Duncan.

Leestown's football team

Contact: Head coach Sterling Ward

Posted Nov. 16, 2022