Return to Headlines

Pre-Engineering at Leestown earns Program Excellence Award

Leestown Middle School has received a Program Excellence Award from the Kentucky affiliate of the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association, which recognizes outstanding efforts in engineering, aviation, and STEM areas. The other award winners included an elementary and a high school program as well as three teachers from across the state. All will accept their honors in late March during the 2019 ITEEA conference in Kansas City, Missouri, where the theme will be “Technology and Engineering Bring STEM to Life.”

Leestown’s Pre-Engineering Program provides students with a challenging interdisciplinary approach focused on math, science, engineering, art, and technology. For 2018-19, 180 students are enrolled. Pre-Engineering is just one way Leestown fulfills its mission of “engaging students in learning experiences that empower each with the tools for life-long success.” To achieve the goals, the six core-content teachers collaborated during the summer to build a curriculum that features hands-on, project-based learning. This team includes Robin Featheringill (Pre-Engineering coordinator), Allison French, Joshua Penrose, Charla Ridgeway, Jason Ross, and Aarika Stephenson, along with colleagues Ben Owen for Digital Art & Design and Brandon French for Coding & Robotics classes. In addition, the Pre-Engineering students are integrated as much as possible with the rest of the student body in exploratory classes, field trips, schoolwide initiatives, after-school activities, and athletics.

For more about the ITEEA award, please contact Mark Harrell with the Kentucky Technology Student Association at (502) 564-4286 ext. 4227 in Frankfort.