Return to Headlines

Debate team tallies 7th consecutive state championship

Henry Clay's championship debate team for 2019-20

The debate team from Henry Clay High School captured its seventh straight state championship this spring, earning the Sustained Excellence Trophy and Coach of the Year honors for Ryan Ray. The Kentucky High School Speech League’s 2020 state tournament was March 11-12 at the University of Louisville. (COVID-19 concerns preempted the accompanying speech tournament slated for that weekend.)

Top results from Henry Clay

Congressional debate: 4th to William Byerman

Supersession participants: Sebastian Enz, Hope Jordan, and Celia Dawahare

Varsity Public Forum Debate: 1st place to August Colby & Santiago O’Neil

Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Debate: 1st place to Jack Lofwall

Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate: co-champions -- Chose Sachs & Matthew Kotter 

Policy Debate: 1st place to Abby Gottesman & Sam Merritt and 2nd to Sneha Amrit & Emmy Sippy

Speaker Awards / Varsity Public Forum: 2nd place to August Colby, 3rd to Tag Howard, 4th to Santiago O’Neil, and 5th to Jasir Rahman

Speaker Awards / Varsity Lincoln-Douglas: 1st place to Jack Lofwall, 5th to Cole Knight, and 7th to Will Baumann

Top Speakers / Policy: Emmy Sippy and Sneha Amrit 

Speaker Awards / Novice Public Forum: 3rd place to Karson Whitley, 4th to Justine Lofwall, and 9th to Ghazzal Hammad

Speaker Awards / Novice Lincoln-Douglas: 2nd place to Chloe Sachs, 3rd to Matthew Kotter, and 8th to Cayla Barreiro

For questions, please contact speech & debate coach Ryan Ray.