Return to Headlines

Garrett Morgan Finishes First in 2022 Battle of the Books

Garrett Morgan Elementary is the 2021-22 Battle of the Books champion! Congratulations to elementary division winners Ansley Schill, Natalie Martinkovic, and Isaac Qualls. In the April 26 finals, Dixie Magnet was runner-up, followed by Tates Creek Elementary and SCAPA at Bluegrass (grades 4, 5).

Throughout the school year, the Battle of the Books program encourages students to read a list of books across a variety of genres, focusing on reading comprehension. In the spring, students square off at the school level for a spot on their competition team. School teams then compete in a preliminary round to earn a trip to the finals, and the top four teams in each division battle it out in the quick recall district championship. 

Contact: Stephanie Meyer (elementary division) 

Posted April 28, 2022