About Fayette County Public Schools in Lexington, Kentucky

  • In Fayette County Public Schools, we serve some 42,000 students from the Lexington metro area, and every decision we make - from the board room to the classroom - is based on doing what's best for all our students. Our dedicated employees share a common goal of providing a world-class education for each and every child, and it shows. Time and again, our students and staff members earn state and national accolades in academic, athletic, and professional arenas. We also have amazing support from our families, business community, and civic leaders who are all intent on creating a positive environment for students to learn and succeed. 

    2018-19 Annual Report 
    2017-18 Annual Report 
    2016-17 Annual Report

    Web tip: The URL shortcut to this page is fcps.net/basics

  • external view of central office building

    (859) 381-4100

    Fayette County Public Schools is headquartered at 450 Park Place, Lexington KY 40511. We also have support offices on Russell Cave Road and Springhill Drive, and bus garages on Liberty Road and Miles Point Way.

    History lesson

    The Guy S. Potts Building at 701 E. Main St. housed FCPS district offices from 1970 through 2020. When it opened in 1928 as Henry Clay High School, it was the largest city high school in Lexington. After Henry Clay moved to Fontaine Road, the Main Street facility was renovated for district offices and renamed for Potts, the superintendent from 1961 to 1984.