Magnet Schools

  • Fayette County's magnet schools foster higher achievement, encourage creativity, open the door to other cultures, and provide an array of educational choices that focus on the specific needs, interests, and abilities of students. Students accepted to magnet programs leave their regular schools in order to study in the specialty area of their choice: Biomedical sciences (Frederick Douglass High School), International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (Tates Creek High School), traditional programs (LTMS), individually prescribed education (Dixie), Spanish immersion (Maxwell and Bryan Station middle and high); and science, technology, engineering, arts, and math (STEAM Academy). 


    The Project Lead the Way Biomedical Science Pathway engages students in high-level critical inquiry through problem-based instruction and discovery learning. Students take advanced courses and can earn college credit hours through a combination of dual credit and Advanced Placement classes. This program has entrance criteria, and only incoming ninth-graders are considered through its lottery system. Space is limited.

    International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme is open to all FCPS students who want to challenge themselves with a rigorous college preparatory program. Ninth and 10th grades offer a pre-IB advanced curriculum, and 11th and 12th grades are the IB Diploma Programme.

    Lexington Traditional Magnet School offers three pathways of study: STEM, Liberal Arts, & Visual and Performing Arts. It has entrance criteria and accepts students through a lottery draw. Space is limited.   

    Dixie and Maxwell elementaries accept students via lottery but do not have entrance criteria.

    Spanish Immersion Program continues after Maxwell Elementary.

    STEAM Academy selects applicants through a lottery that maintains a diverse student population. 


    Online application | The window typically is Aug. 15 to Oct. 7 for the following school year. It's not a first-come, first-served system. Applications may be submitted anytime during the window, and all receive equal consideration.

    Notification: All applicants will get word in mid-January that they are either accepted, wait-listed, or declined. If your family does not hear anything by the end of January, please email

    FCPS policies and procedures


    Web tip: The URL shortcut to this page is

  • Contact

    Vee Pryor,
    special programs manager
    Phone: (859) 381-4741
    Location: Room 206 at central office, 701 E. Main St.


    For inquiries about the application or other specifics, please contact the school directly.

    Frederick Douglass High School, 381-3780

    Tates Creek High School: 381-3623

    Lexington Traditional Magnet, 381-3192

    Dixie Elementary, 381-3116

    Maxwell Elementary, 381-3516

    Spanish Immersion at Bryan Station middle, 381-3288, and high school, 381-3308

    STEAM Academy, 381-3033