Equity Council Committee

  • The Equity Council Committee monitors and analyzes equity issues, advises the Fayette County Board of Education, and advocates for achievement for all students. We are champions for all children regardless of their background and circumstances, and we represent the equity conscience of the community. Five committee members are appointed by the school board and six are elected by the seated committee.

    ECC members: Ariel ArthurJoseph Barry, Camisha Boyd-PowellRaaziq El-Amin, Arnold Farr (vice chair), Glenda GeorgeBob McLaughlin, Bret Nathaniel (chair), and Thalethia Routt; two vacancies

    The group generally convenes at 6:30 p.m. on the first Tuesday, with exceptions for holidays and other conflicts. Because of COVID-19 precautions, the committee is meeting via video-teleconference. The public may also watch the live stream in person at the John D. Price Administration Building (450 Park Place), and community input is welcome in Conference Room 150:

    2021-22 schedule: 

    • Sept. 7
    • Oct. 5
    • Nov. 2
    • Dec. 7
    • Jan. 11
    • Feb. 1
    • March 1
    • April 5
    • May 3
    • June 7

    Archived videos: YouTube playlist

    Web tip: The URL shortcut to this page is fcps.net/equitycouncil

  • Resources:

    Equity Statement


    Standards of Practice -- This document outlines 14 agreements drafted during a May 2016 retreat with then-Superintendent Manny Caulk, school board Chairwoman Melissa Bacon, and board member Daryl Love.