Skip To Main Content

Lafayette Boys Soccer Coach Leads Postseason Honors

Lafayette Boys Soccer Coach Leads Postseason Honors

The Kentucky High School Soccer Coaches Association has named Lafayette’s Chris Grimm as the state’s Boys Soccer Coach of the Year (large school division). In addition, the Generals’ Sawyer Trowel is Kentucky’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Joining Sawyer on the boys’ all-state first team for the 2023 season were Cooper Ranvier of Frederick Douglass, Alecx Castro of Lafayette, Marco Messerli of Henry Clay, Gio Chavez of Paul Laurence Dunbar, and Asukulu Chantike of Tates Creek.

Teams are divided into All-State West (Regions 1-8) and All-State East (Regions 9-16) based on geography. Fayette County Public Schools is in the East.

In girls’ postseason soccer honors, the East’s all-state first team included Haley Flynn of Frederick Douglass and Lily Simpson of Lafayette.