Skip To Main Content

FCPS boasts 51 semifinalists for 2024 National Merit Scholarships

FCPS boasts 51 semifinalists for 2024 National Merit Scholarships

Fayette County Public Schools has produced over four dozen semifinalists in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students are among some 16,000 outstanding high school seniors who will compete for nearly $28 million in awards next spring.  

From Frederick Douglass:

Alyssa Lock

Jonas Maggard

From Henry Clay:

Fatimah Alomar

William Brown

Leah Buzard

Avery Caldwell

Henry Carlson

Clinton Corkran

Layth Rahman

Jason Tang

From Lafayette:

William Cullen

William Darragh

Benjamin Duttlinger

Seth Gladding

Elijah Henderson

Liam Rayens

Jenna Sharpe

Matthew Tillett

From Paul Laurence Dunbar:

Lawrence Bai

Vibha Bhaskar

Shreya Chandrashekar

Allen Chen

Andrew Chen

Emma Conley

Ellen Fei

Rick Fitzpatrick

Chakrapani Gudlavalleti

Omar Hamid

Akiva Himelhoch

William Hinz

Jonah Hubert

Jonah Ivanov

Alexander Johnson

Yusuf Kahloon

Yasin Khan

Kiran Koul

Mikhail Kovalev

Sarah Lin

Sophie Mobley

Adil Moula

Kotaro Nagano

Allison Neltner

Eli Park

Margaret Qiu

Camden Richardson

Isaac Robinson

Rowan Sturgill

Laura Tong

Joseph Vulakh

Justin Wong

Tony Xu

High school juniors entered the 2024 competition by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screening. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1 percent of seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Typically, about 95 percent of semifinalists advance in February, and about half of those finalists ultimately receive scholarships based on their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The winner announcements come in four waves from April through July, including awards for corporate-sponsored scholarships, $2,500 National Merit scholarships, and college-sponsored scholarships. The National Merit Scholarship Corp., businesses, and higher education institutions underwrite the awards.

Source: National Merit Scholarship Corp.