Skip To Main Content

Social Emotional Learning

Social emotional learning (SEL) is an integral part of education and human development. SEL is the process through which all young people and adults acquire and apply knowledge, skills, and attitudes to develop healthy identities, manage emotions, and achieve personal and collective goals, feel and show empathy for others, establish and maintain supportive relationships, and make responsible and caring decisions.  


These videos provide an overview of the five social emotional competencies:



Responsible Decision Making

Relationship Skills

Social Awareness


To ensure we meet our students' needs, we give the DESSA (Deveraux Strengths Assessment) twice a year. DESSA assesses eight social emotional areas that align with the five competencies. The results of the strengths assessment:

  • Help educators plan Tier 1 SEL instruction and cross-curricular integration, 
  • Document students' strengths and areas for growth, 
  • Inform progress monitoring  for tiered supports and extension activities, and
  • Evaluate SEL program outcomes.

Parental consent is required for students in grades 6-12. Families may review the assessment tools and learn more about DESSA at these elementary, middle, and high school information pages.

Web tip: The URL shortcut to this page is