Skip To Main Content

Fine Arts

The Fine Arts team coordinates band and orchestra; vocal, instrumental, and general music; visual art; theater; dance; creative writing/literary arts; and humanities (“History and Appreciation of the Visual and Performing Arts”) for the school district. Our goals include increasing student participation, enhancing student achievement, and encouraging family engagement in these areas. 

Our three instructional specialists -- David Fonda, Rachel Losch, and Kelly Mayes -- help support about 250 arts educators and over 40,000 students across Fayette County Public Schools.

Seal of Arts Excellence

Graduating seniors who demonstrate an advanced level of specialization in a visual and performing arts discipline can earn the Seal of Arts Excellence from FCPS.

Events Calendar

May 2024
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Wed, May 1
Dunbar theater presents "Clue"
1600 Man o' War Blvd.
Thu, May 2
Dunbar theater presents "Clue"
1600 Man o' War Blvd.
Fri, May 3
Lafayette (SCAPA) Orchestra & Strings Recital
Sayre Christian Village, 3775 Belleau Wood Drive
FCPS Secondary Art Exhibition
LASC, 362 N. Martin Luther King Blvd.
Dunbar theater presents "Clue"
1600 Man o' War Blvd.
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5
Dunbar theater presents "Clue"
1600 Man o' War Blvd.
Mon, May 6
Lafayette's SCAPA Voice Senior Recital
Beaumont Presbyterian Church, 1070 Lane Allen Road
Tue, May 7
Wed, May 8
Lafayette's Spring Band Concert
Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose St.
Thu, May 9
Dunbar theater presents "Clue"
1600 Man o' War Blvd.
Lafayette Orchestra & Strings Concert
Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose St.
Fri, May 10
Dunbar theater presents "Clue"
1600 Man o' War Blvd.
Sat, May 11
Sun, May 12
Mon, May 13
Lafayette's SCAPA Advanced Spring Concert
Singletary Center for the Arts, 405 Rose St.
Tue, May 14
Wed, May 15
Thu, May 16
World Culture Night at Millcreek
1212 Reva Ridge Way
Fri, May 17
Gallery Hop
LASC 362 N. Martin Luther King Blvd.
Lafayette Singers at Gallery Hop
Christ Church Cathedral, 166 Market St.
Sat, May 18
Sun, May 19
Mon, May 20
Dixie's "The Lion King Jr."
1940 Eastland Parkway
Tue, May 21
Dixie's "The Lion King Jr."
1940 Eastland Parkway
Wed, May 22
Thu, May 23
Fri, May 24
Sat, May 25
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1

Contacts:

Katherine Lowther,
director of Fine Arts
(859) 381-4100 ext. 4832

Donna Austin,
administrative assistant
(859) 381-4100 ext. 4847