Skip To Main Content

Equity Council Committee

The Equity Council Committee (ECC) monitors and analyzes equity issues, advises the school board, and advocates for achievement by all students. We are champions for all children regardless of their background and circumstances, and we represent the equity conscience of the community. Five committee members are appointed by the school board and six are elected by the seated committee.

Appointed members, through December 2024: Raaziq El-Amin (tapped by board Chair Tyler Murphy), Arnold Farr (by Vice Chair Amy Green), Jeanette Hart (board member Marilyn Clark), Bob McLaughlin (former board member Tom Jones), and Monica Mundy (board member Amanda Ferguson)

Elected members, serving through December 2025: Camisha Boyd-Powell (chair), Anthony Danny Everett, Bret Nathaniel, and Kevin Thomas


The ECC gathers at 6:30 p.m. on the first Tuesday, with exceptions for holidays and other calendar conflicts. You can watch the livestream at home or attend at the John D. Price Administration Building (450 Park Place), and community input is welcome in Conference Room 150. You can also attend any planning sessions on the third Tuesday.

YouTube playlist


Soraya Matthews,
chief of Unity, Belonging, & Student Efficacy
(859) 381-4100, ext. 4549

Email the ECC members


Equity Statement


Guiding Principles -- This document outlines nine agreements drafted by the Equity Council Committee during a September 2022 retreat with Superintendent Demetrus Liggins, school board Chair Tyler Murphy and other board members.