Fayette Regional Juvenile Detention Center

  • exterior of building

    This is a state-owned and -operated maximum-security juvenile detention facility. It opened in 2005 as a 48-bed facility and was later expanded to 60 beds to meet the demands of its 10-county service area: Fayette, Clark, Madison, Jessamine, Woodford, Anderson, Franklin, Scott, Nicholas, and Bourbon. The youth here are usually between the ages of 12 and 18 and are generally awaiting adjudication or placement at other treatment facilities. When students enter this detention center, they are enrolled in FCPS, and classrooms are located within the facility. A regular day educational program is provided in addition to the Title I program, which provides materials, supplies, equipment, training, and staff for school as well as summer tutorial program. Title I funds also provide for a transition program to help youths with a successful re-entry into their school and to discourage truancy.

    Web tip: The URL shortcut to this page is fcps.net/detention