Cardinal Valley Elementary

Lexington, Kentucky

Escuela en el valle de Cardenales

Popular Links

Highlights

District Announcements

School Announcements

  • Image result for open house

    Open House will be at Cardinal Valley on Thursday, August 9th, 2018 from 5:30 pm- 7:30 pm. You will be receiving a letter in the mail that will include forms that will need to be filled out and returned to school on this day. If you have any questions about the upcoming school year please feel free to call the office from 9 am- 1 pm at 859-381-3340. We look forward to seeing you!

    Comments (-1)
  • 2018-2019 School Supply List for all grades

    Image result for school supply list

    Comments (-1)
  • Preschool Program

    Registration for 2018-2019 Preschool program begins April 23rd, 2018.

    A child who meets the following guidelines is eligible for preschool:

    • Lives in Fayette County, and
    • Is 4 years old on or before Aug. 1, and
    • Falls under federal income guidelines.

    Or if the child:

    • Lives in Fayette County, and
    • Is 3 or 4 years old, and
    • Has a diagnosed special need.

    Screening: Families with concerns about a child's development may request screening. Call (859) 381-4080 for an appointment.

    Enrollment requirements     English Enrollment Packet/ Spanish Enrollment Packet         

    • Reliable proof of identity, such as an official copy of the child's birth certificate
    • Proof of residency in Fayette County
    • Verification of household income
    • Up-to-date Kentucky immunization certificate
    • Medical examination / physical check-up
    • Eye exam (due by Jan. 1)

     

     

    Comments (-1)
  • Kindergarten Registration

    Countdown to Kindergarten logo

    Kentucky law requires children between 6 and 18 years old to attend school, and the birthday cutoff for enrolling in kindergarten is age 5 on or before Aug. 1. Also, families may apply for preschool if their child turns 4 on or before Aug. 1 and is income-eligible. Three- and 4-year-olds who have a special need may also apply for preschool in the Fayette County program.

        Sign up for 2018-19

    To enroll a new, first-time student in grades K-12, families may begin the process online here. A parent or guardian may also go straight to the school their neighborhood is assigned to and fill out a registration packet. To determine your child's school, which is based on home address, use the SchoolSite Locator tool.

     

    Registration windows: from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Feb. 6-23, April 10-27, June 7-8, and July 24 through Aug. 15 (first day of school). Evening sign-up from 5 to 7 p.m. is offered on Feb. 13 and April 17.

     

        Note: The Fayette County Preschool Program has a separate application process; please visit fcps.net/preschool for details.

        Please bring the following to registration:

    •  Child's birth certificate or other reliable proof of identity (see below*)
    • Two proofs of residence, such as a property deed or current lease agreement in your name and a secondary document such as a current utility bill or a current tax bill or receipt
    • Proof of child's recent preventative health care exam **
    • Up-to-date Kentucky immunization certificate **
    • Proof of an eye exam (due by Jan. 1)
    • Proof of a dental exam (due by Jan. 1)
    • Court documents pertaining to your child, if applicable
    • Health requirements: Exams, immunizations, and forms

        ** You may register without these two documents, but your child may not attend school until they are on file with FCPS.

        * A legal copy of the child's birth certificate or another official document proving the child's identity and date of birth is required for school registration. Among the acceptable alternatives:

            Adoption records;

            Valid passport or other federal government identification like a Social Security card;

            Military identification or immigration card;

            Valid Kentucky driver's license or permit;

            Prior school records (other than FCPS) identifying student by name and date of birth; or

    Statement: "At this time, I am unable to provide the school with one of the acceptable forms of proof listed above. I understand that this constitutes written notice that Kentucky state law requires that I provide the certified birth certificate or one of the above-listed items to the school within 30 days of student enrollment. If I fail to do so, I understand that I will be reported to local law enforcement or the Kentucky State Police for investigation."

     You can get a birth-certificate application from the assigned school or from the Fayette County Health Department, 650 Newtown Pike; call (859) 252-2371.

     Web tip: The URL shortcut to this page is www.fcps.net/enrollment or www.fcps.net/registration

    ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Comments (-1)
  • Notes from the Office

    Doors open at 7:15 A.M. Students need to be in thier seats at 7:45 A.M. Any student that is not in their seat at 7:45 A.M. will be marked as tardy. Any student who enters the building after 7:45 A.M. will be marked as tardy. 

    Every student is allowed an unlimited amount of offical doctors excuses for tardies and full day absences.

    Every students is allowed 10 written parent notes for tardies and 10 written parent notes for full day absences.

    ALL doctors notes and parents notes must be turned into the office within 3 days of the students return to school. Any notes or excuses turned into the office after the 3 day period WILL NOT excuse the tardy or absence. 

    Any indivdual coming to pick a student up from school MUST show an ID. We will not release a student to an individual without verifying thier identity.

    Please have your ID ready when coming to the office.

    When picking up your student for early dismissal please arrive to the office no later than 2:00 P.M. 

    Transportation changes CANNOT be made over the phone. 

    Please send a written, dated and signed note with your student to verify a change in afternoon transportation.

    Without a written, dated and signed note we CANNOT allow a change in transportation for the safety and security of the students.

    For any questions or concerns, please call the front office at 859-381-3340.

    Fax Number: 859-381-3341

     

    Comments (-1)

Headlines

CLOSE
CLOSE