Equity Council Committee

  • The Equity Council Committee monitors and analyzes equity issues, advises the Fayette County Board of Education, and advocates for achievement for all students. We are champions for all children regardless of their background and circumstances, and we represent the equity conscience of the community.

    Members (five appointed by the board and six elected by the seated committee): Joseph Barry, Camisha Boyd-PowellRaaziq El-Amin, Arnold Farr, Glenda GeorgeLois GillespieNicole Thorne JenkinsBob McLaughlin, Bret Nathaniel (chair), Thalethia Routt, and Ariel Young

    The Equity Council Committee generally convenes at 6:30 p.m. on the first Tuesday, with exceptions for holidays or other conflicts. Because of COVID-19 restrictions, the meetings are virtual until further notice. Viewers can watch the live stream or find archived videos on this YouTube playlist.

    Council meetings in 2020-21: Aug. 4 (canceled / COVID-19) | Sept. 1 (canceled / COVID-19) | Oct. 6 (canceled / COVID-19) | Nov. 10 (canceled / COVID-19) | Dec. 1 video | Jan. 12 video | Feb. 2 video | March 2 | April 6 | May 4 | June 1

    Web tip: The URL shortcut to this page is fcps.net/equitycouncil

  • Contact us

    Darryl Thompson,
    chief equity officer
    (859) 381-4710


    Equity Statement
    Standards of Practice -- This document outlines 14 agreements drafted during a May 2016 retreat with Superintendent Manny Caulk, school board Chairwoman Melissa Bacon, and board member Daryl Love.