Tax Office

What we do:

We are responsible for collecting taxes levied by the Fayette County Board of Education. The board levies an occupational license tax of one-half of 1 percent on salaries, wages, commissions and other compensation of individuals who are Fayette County residents for activities performed or rendered in Fayette County and on the net profits of all businesses, professions or occupations from activities conducted in Fayette County. The tax is levied in accordance with KRS 160.605.

How to find us:

Our office is located in room 219 of "It's About Kids" Support Services, 701 E. Main St., Lexington, KY 40502. Business hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The main phone number is (859) 381-4158, and the fax number is  (859) 381-4706. Our mailing address is P.O. Box 55570, Lexington, KY 40555-5570. To share general comments or concerns, email us at FCPS Tax Office.

Web tip: The URL shortcut to this page is

Card payments

You can pay business taxes in our office with a debit or credit card. | Details

Outside counsel:

Henry, Watz, Raine & Marino, PLLC
Kara Read Marino
Phone: (859) 253-1320
Fax: (859) 255-8316

Related resources

About this page