Fourteen recent graduates receive college-sponsored merit scholarships

Author: Tammy L. Lane • First Posted: Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Fourteen recent graduates of Fayette County Public Schools are among 85 Kentucky recipients of 2017 National Merit college-sponsored scholarships:  

  • Thomas Cheal of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, who plans to study computer science at the University of Louisville;
  • Jessica Daniel of Lafayette High School, undecided career field, Centre College;
  • Preston Gorman of Henry Clay High School, computer science, University of Kentucky;
  • Sarah Han of Dunbar, undecided, Northwestern University;
  • Carson Hardee of Lafayette, marketing, University of Kentucky;
  • Elizabeth Howard of Dunbar, accounting, University of Louisville;
  • Jodi Kirkner of Henry Clay, foreign language, University of Southern California;
  • Johnathan Krauss of Tates Creek High School, medicine, University of Kentucky;
  • Clara McKinley of Henry Clay, neurology, University of Oklahoma;
  • Matthew Pitts of Dunbar, accounting, University of Kentucky;
  • Miranda Rojas of Lafayette, music, Belmont University;
  • Halle Shannon of Lafayette, biochemistry, University of Kentucky;
  • Nicholas Sirlouis of Lafayette, environmental science, University of Cincinnati; and
  • Natalina Corrinne Vaccaro of Dunbar, computer science, University of Louisville. 

In the National Merit Scholarship Program, some 3,200 award winners were chosen from a pool of more than 15,000 finalists – deemed to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the school financing the scholarship. 

Recipients of the National Merit program’s $2,500 awards were announced May 10, and the names of corporate scholarship winners were released April 19. Additional recipients of college-sponsored scholarships will be announced July 17. By the end of this year’s competition, about 7,500 seniors will have received awards worth $32 million. 


Read more FCPS news and features