Henry Clay, Eastside, Dunbar nab ‘Keep It Real’ awards

Author: Tammy L. Lane • First Posted: Wednesday, January 30, 2013

The winners of the ninth annual – and final – Keep It Real Video/Internet Contest were awarded a total of $3,025 in prize money Jan. 29 at the Kentucky Theatre.

Best Direction honors went to Henry Clay High School for “If You Could Take it Back,” submitted by Augustus Logsdon, Ned Katz, Dylan Sarkisian and Jeremy Davis. They will have an opportunity to work with filmmaker and Keep It Real founder Arthur Rouse from Video Editing Services.  

Fayette County Public Schools also produced several other winners in this statewide competition: 

Best Original Music

  • “Big Shots” – Eastside Technical Center (Shameer Atkins) 

Best Cinematography

  • “Sermon” – Eastside Technical Center (Shameer Atkins) 

Best Editing

  • “Just Think, Don’t Drink” – Eastside Technical Center (Lequan Johnson, Erin Leitch, Mike Turner) 

Best Art Direction

  • “Don’t Shatter Your Dreams” – Paul Laurence Dunbar High School (Logan Hill, Cameron Holland, Grant Herald)
  • Honorable Mention: “Goals for Life” – Eastside Technical Center (Lainey Geddes) 

Best Comedy

  • “When Alcohol Finds You” – Paul Laurence Dunbar High School (Jay Bishop, Joe Samaan, Trent Bauer, Patrick Marlowe, Brandyn Duncan)
  • Honorable Mention: “What Are You Looking At?” – Henry Clay High School (Alexis Jeanjaquet) 

Best Script

  • Honorable Mention: “Priorities” – Paul Laurence Dunbar High School (Aubrey Walter, Alyssa Marano, Maddie Oberg) 

Most Original

  • Honorable Mention: “Unfound Answers” – Paul Laurence Dunbar High School (Payton Sword, Lauren Shields, Makena Wilcoxson, Daphne Scott) 

The Keep It Real campaign was a youth-driven community campaign to educate teenagers on the risks of underage drinking. The guiding premise was that students are more likely to understand the message when they help design the message. This is the final year for the contest, as funding will no longer be available through the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention and the Kentucky State Police.  

For more information, contact Lynsey Sugarman with the Mayor’s Alliance on Substance Abuse, (859) 361-1402.



Read more FCPS news and features