Young Achievers names school winners

Author: Tammy L. Lane • First Posted: Monday, April 16, 2012

The Young Achievers program has selected countywide winners for the 2011-2012 school year, and each will receive a gold medallion, T-shirt and book bag. All participating students received an award certificate.


The program honors fifth- and eighth-graders who serve as positive role models for their peers, demonstrate exceptional achievement in a variety of areas, exhibit good citizenship in their schools and communities, and maintain satisfactory records of school attendance and scholastic achievement. Principals, guidance counselors and teachers nominate students in the spring of the previous school year.


Congratulations to these top honorees from Fayette County Public Schools:


Elementary schools / fifth-graders: Arlington, Michael Henson; Ashland, Andy Du; Athens- Chilesburg, Langston Jackson; Booker T. Washington, Rasaan Thompson; Breckinridge, Anthony Wright; Cardinal Valley, Nieve Jackson; Cassidy, Harris Hawkins; Clays Mill, Casey Cowden; Deep Springs, Malinda Lemons; Dixie Magnet, Elizabeth Pike; Garden Springs, Rhayna Bailey; Glendover, Allison Ward; Harrison, Kianna Johnson; James Lane Allen, Shayla Anaskevich; Julius Marks, Jessica Ewing; Lansdowne, Hayden Decker; Liberty, Savanna Ruebsam; Mary Todd, Russell Gibson; Maxwell, Abigail Pennington; Meadowthorpe, Maara Ensmann; Millcreek, Will Susco; Northern, Kobe Wallace; Picadome, Ryan Bussini; Rosa Parks, Joshua Siegel; Russell Cave, Brooklyn Willhite; Sandersville, Haiden Hunt; SCAPA at Bluegrass,  Kennedy Comer; Southern, Hannah Hahnenstein; Squires, Michael Lanham; Stonewall, Emma Owens; Tates Creek, Erica Currier; Veterans Park, Jacob Meyer; William Wells Brown, Xavia Smart; and Yates, Adrian Sardinha.  


Middle schools / eighth-graders: Beaumont, Samantha Bartoli; Bryan Station, Elyse Blakeman; Edythe J. Hayes, Jena Carter; Jessie Clark, Sarah Bowen; Leestown, Shane Caldwell; Lexington Traditional Magnet School, Zariah Embry; Morton, Rachel Glasser; SCAPA at Bluegrass, Tanner Troy Bleck; Southern, Annelise Ridgway; Tates Creek, Alexis Wells; and Winburn, Darius Fullwood. 


Holifield Photography sponsors Young Achievers in cooperation with the International Leadership Network, a nonprofit, charitable organization. The school winners are considered for national awards presented by the network.  


For more information, call (859) 276-2040 or email





Read more news and features in FCPS






Read more FCPS news and features