18 FCPS teachers earn National Board Certification

Author: Lisa Deffendall • First Posted: Friday, December 7, 2007

National Board Certification is a demonstration of a teacher’s practice as measured against high and rigorous standards. Offered on a voluntary basis and valid for ten years, the advanced system complements, but does not replace state licensing. To be considered for certification, teachers are assessed on portfolio entries containing videos reflecting their teaching style, student learning products and other teaching materials. This provides details of how the teachers work and connect with students in their classroom. Candidates for certification are also tested on their knowledge specific to their field.

This year, Fayette County Public Schools welcomes 18 new National Board Certified recipients. They are:

Heidi Anderson – Paul Laurence Dunbar High
Renee Boss – Bryan Station High
Ashley Burris – Beaumont Middle
Jennifer Cook – Clays Mill Elementary
Valerie Cornett – Linlee Elementary
Jennifer Cox – Garden Springs Elementary
Becky Fritz – James Lane Allen Elementary
Sarah Garrison – Johnson Elementary
Helen Graham – Lafayette High
Cheryl Irwin – Tates Creek High
Rebecca Johnson – Bryan Station High
Susie Jolliffe – Lafayette High
Susan Jones – Breckinridge Elementary
Amber Mcclellan – Breckinridge Elementary
Jennifer Pack – Southern Middle
Phyllis Peterson Schlich – Tates Creek High
Barb Willett – Linlee Elementary
Michelle Peck Williams – Paul Laurence Dunbar High 

The district currently has 60 National Board Certified Teachers.


Read more FCPS news and features